200,000!!!!!!!!!

so about 18 months ago i lost somebody dear in my heart & found i could not listen to music with words.Sounds silly right but all the words reminded me of her.I started buying a ton of underground releases cassette/vinyl/you name it  that were all ambient/noise/electronic sounds as i sought to find something to rub in my open emotional wound.

     Well in August last year using the example of other tape blogs i thought why not start a blog & post this stuff for others to hear.I figured it would keep me busy & act as therapy.After an initial attempt to call the blog “Defining Astral Soul” I decided “Static Encounters” sounded better &  started this blog 359 days ago. Today i had my 200,000th visit along with 28,000 downloads.I won’t lie this can be hard work what with the ripping & editing & tagging & uploading.Sometimes it feels like a job!As my equipment & knowledge of how to use it properly has increased it’s gotten easier but it’s still a grind at times.Particularly since at least twice i’ve had all my links wiped out

 BUT….I’m stunned that this weird collection of sounds has this many followers & thankful that the blog did it’s job.I have  met  many interesting & friendly people thru Static.I have had artists & labels send me their music & thank me for listening & posting when in reality they are the ones doing ME the favor.Most of the people i have corresponded with i have never met & many are scattered across the globe but i consider them friends & fellow musical travelers.Most importantly this journey to heal my heart & my soul has been everything i hoped it could be & the person that i missed so badly is back  in my life & though the sun had risen on my life before this happened now it shines ever the brighter & i only now feel whole.She has no interest in the music i post here & had no knowledge i’d even started this but without her loss this blog would never have existed.I have no plans on stopping anytime soon i still enjoy this too much.I cannot predict the future or even know where my journey will take me with or without this person but i hope all of you out there on the ride with me stay on board & keep enjoying the sounds i share,Whether you’ve left comments are not i appreciate each & every person who stops here & am so happy that we are able to connect our souls thru the power of the digital world & music.

  1. keep going & stay tuned! cheers from Ukraine

      • speedguru
      • August 9th, 2012

      i plan on it thanks

    • out1
    • August 9th, 2012

    you are a don.

    happy to hear about things getting better.

  2. gladness…

    • Va
    • August 11th, 2012

    Great blog! Thank you!
    Keep in the same direction!

      • speedguru
      • August 11th, 2012

      thanks.If i ever marry her though i think the blog is in trouble.If you saw her pictures you’d know why

    • myself
    • August 20th, 2012

    i visit this blog on a daily basis !!! gret job, thanx a lot

    • Max
    • September 21st, 2012

    Thanks for the music & glad that things are going well for you. I didn’t see anything on the blog about reposts, but if you ever have the inclination there are a number of your old mediafire posts that I missed that I’d love to hear.

      • speedguru
      • September 25th, 2012

      post a list & i’ll make my way to them.Thanks

  3. Thanks! I enjoy pretty much everything you post, but I wasn’t paying attention to my blogroll for a while there. These were the ones I was most interested in hearing, in rough order:
    Atman ‎– Duchy Przodków Mieszkają W Drzewach
    Stone Breath “Twist of Thorn”
    Various – head music
    Lunar Miasma – Managing the Dream
    Raajmahal – ST
    Iibiis Rooge – Life In A Bloodcell
    Daniel Bachman – Oh be joyful
    Goblin Market – Beneath Far Gondal’s Foreign Sky
    Hands of Hydra & Janina Angel Bath ‎– Stargazer
    Food Pyramid – 1 & 2
    B.R. Garm-The 78th Morningside
    Andrew Cronshaw-the Unbroken Surface Of Snow

    I understand if you don’t want to keep names on the blog & prefer to delete the comment after reading. Thanks again for keeping your blog going–I know it’s a lot of work.

      • speedguru
      • October 23rd, 2012

      is this your reupload list? LOL i’ll do it but it will take a bit

      • No problem! Any posts you get to would be appreciated.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

